Long time no write, right?

It’s been a hectic time recently, and there’s plenty of news to get through, so here goes:

Last month, I graduated from Southampton University, having completed my Bachelor’s in Music with a First. In addition, I was awarded the Hazel Muras-Osborn Composition Prize, for “the best achievement overall as a composer on the course”. This prize took me totally by surprise, and an achievement I am very proud of. No doubt it will be a fantastic thing to have moving forwards.

Furthermore, it has been suggested to me by one of my lecturer’s that I submit an essay that I wrote for my final year to an Academic blog, before reworking it and submitting it to a full Academic Journal. Needless to say, I will be taking up this opportunity eagerly.

Following on from all that, next month I will be starting my Master’s in Music Composition, once again at Southampton University, lasting for a whole year. I’m very excited to start it, to focus more closely on my composition after three successful years of a wonderfully broad musical education. I’m especially looking forward to working more closely with the composers there – in particular, Matthew Shlomowitz, who I have already had much success in working with.

In addition to this, I am on the committee for SUStrings, the Southampton University String Orchestra, for 2015-16 in the role of Librarian. I hope to bring a new spin to the role and orchestra, by placing an emphasis on playing student works – either composed, or arranged. And in keeping with a tradition started last year, I hope to make the final concert of the year a soundtrack concert, for which I, as well as other members, have already started arranging a number of pieces.

Perhaps most excitingly though, I have been brought onto a game development team as lead composer. They have already begun work on the game, with a demo of some sort expected next year but a full development time of at least two years, meaning I have time to work on the soundtrack once my Master’s is completed. This is obviously a fantastic opportunity and I look forward to bringing you all more news as I get it.

In addition to all of this, I have a flat all to myself for this next year, and I am in the process of building a new PC (my poor old laptop is getting on a bit and I need the extra grunt of a desktop). With the privacy and extra processing power this gives me, I should be able to return to streaming composition on a more regular basis – and in higher quality! I’ll let you guys know as soon as everything on that end is sorted out.

If you’ve got this far, thanks so much for reading all of this! I promise the next update will not be as slow in coming along as this one was. Given everything that’s happened to me recently and is going to happen, I’m very excited for my future in composition.

For now, I’m just enjoying a sweet Disaronno on the rocks after a hard day’s arranging…

Disaronno on the rocks

Much love to you all,
Calum

Leave a Reply

